//
you're reading...
Edublogger, Education

If I Am the #Oklaed King for a Day!

King for A Day!

600 words or less – what would I do for education in Oklahoma…most of my experiences are centered on the high school – it’s where I lived for 18.5 years.

#1 – Completely reorganize the way that high school looks.  No more seven period days.  No more mandatory credits, no more semesters.  The building will open at 7 a.m. ready for students, the building would close at 7 p.m.  Students would take the classes they want to take, when they want to take them.  Yes – there would be some order – no calculus until you have shown mastery of the necessary concepts.  If a student wants to sit in chemistry 101 and work all morning – no problem.  They want to spend the afternoon/evening in the computer lab writing their research paper – no problem.

The cafeteria would be open all day to feed the kids – it is IMPOSSIBLE to learn when you are hungry.  The media center and computer labs would also be open the entire day.  We have to allow schools to meet the basic needs of our poorest students – without making difficult choices (feeding kids or hiring another teacher).

#2 – Students would exit high upon completion of a well designed, well researched project.  This would resemble problem based learning at its finest.  It would not be some quick thing easily completed in 4 weeks.  This would be an involved process, requiring the student to work with several teachers in several different curricular areas.  The skills developed in this project will be beneficial in real life – adulthood is not spent bubbling in circles on forms!  You work with others, you communicate regularly, you think outside the box.  Let’s stop killing the creative thinking and start developing it!

*written on my iPhone- forgive any funky typos…

About Scott

My name is Scott. After 18.5 years as a high school math teacher in public education I have made the move to become a full time PhD student. This decisions was difficult, but has been one of the most rewarding things that I have ever done. Teaching in high school was an incredible experience for me, so leaving an environment that I loved for the unknown was a challenge. As I high school teacher, I taught almost every math course that could be offered. I was able to earn National Board Certification in Young Adult Math. I was honored as my building Teacher of the Year, no mean feat at Edmond Memorial High School!! My career changed as I became fascinated with educational technology and all of the things that it can do for teachers. I flipped my class. I used iPads and blogging (in high school math!!). I started using gamification and mastery learning. I changed my practice. I chose to go back to school to learn as much as I could. To bring that knowledge from academia and research to the teacher on the front line. I have had the opportunity to present at several conferences and share what I have learned with others. Its through these connections that we can be the best teachers we can for our students. They deserve it and we sell ourselves short when we don't give it. I love talking with teachers about change. About incorporating educational technology. About the power that they have to change lives. My blog space is me, it shares my passions and frustrations, my joys and my learnings. If you are interested in what I am studying, please visit my graduate school pages. If you are interested in the flipped classroom, I have some links to get your started. I would love to meet you! Do not hesitate to reach out! I would enjoy the opportunity to work with your staff or trade ideas with your teachers - let me know! Have a great day! #BeBrilliant

Discussion

5 thoughts on “If I Am the #Oklaed King for a Day!

  1. I’d come work in your school in a slap-minute. This would be true education. LOVE.

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by claudiaswisher | March 24, 2015, 8:55 am
  2. Great post. I’m drafting one that includes some of everyone’s thoughts.
    fyi

    http://scholasticadministrator.typepad.com/thisweekineducation/2015/03/thompson-schools-and-devore-devor.html#.VRMYPGd0y71

    also you might like Diane Ravitch’s repost

    http://dianeravitch.net/2015/03/25/privatization-on-the-march-in-oklahoma/

    Like

    Posted by John Thompson | March 25, 2015, 4:26 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Blogging from a Prompt: If I Were King | okeducationtruths - March 24, 2015

  2. Pingback: If I Were King of #Oklaed | A View From The Edge - March 24, 2015

  3. Pingback: What Oklahoma Schools Need | Oklahoma Observer - March 29, 2015

All of the cool people leave comments...

Follow Teaching From Here on WordPress.com

Be amazeballs - enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,632 other subscribers

Teaching From Here has impacted

  • 41,802 educators and counting.

Teach100 Blogs

Follow me on Twitter @TeachFromHere

Worldwide Impact!

Locations of Site Visitors
Follow Teaching From Here on WordPress.com

Be amazeballs - enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,632 other subscribers

Teaching From Here has impacted

  • 41,802 educators and counting.

EdSurge 50 States Writer

GameLab Teacher

3D GameLab Teacher Badge

Teach100 Blogs

Worldwide Impact!

Locations of Site Visitors

Follow me on Twitter @TeachFromHere