//
you're reading...
#oklaed, Edublogger, Education

My Bucket List

Taking a break from thoughts on education….

Here is my bucket list, order not important!

  1. Run the Oklahoma City Marathon – I was sitting in my car at the University of Central Oklahoma studying for a test in Adolescent Psychology when it sounded like a lightening bolt hit right behind my car.
  2. Watch Manchester United play (and win) at Old Trafford (versus Liverpool if possible) – I love the Red Devils!  The leadership of Sir Alex Ferguson – there is so much that can be learned from how he led his team.  In an age where head coaches and managers come and go (fired), he held his position for over 20 years.  His players and their style of play hooked me in.  Reds For Life!!
  3. Stay married to my one and only!  In this era of make me happy or else, I want to fulfill the ’til death do us part of the vows.  Jaz has tolerated some pretty selfish moves from me, I intend to always be there for her.  I hope that we go out like the couple in “The Notebook.”
  4. I want to see educators treated as the professionals they are (still waiting to get a link for this one…).  I had to sneak in something about education 🙂
  5. Go to every match the USA plays in both the Men’s (what a great world cup in Brazil) and Women’s (I still get emotional watching Abby score this goal, I am currently teary eyed) World Cup.  This will be a toughie, but if the U.S. can host both of these tournaments, I have a shot.
  6. Be an amazing Dad.  This will be hard to know for sure, but if the kids turn out well, and Jaz loves me to the end of our days….well, I’ll know.
  7. I would love to give a TED Talk, one that millions view and talk about for a long, long time.  Something that is a cross between Sir Ken Robinson and Jane McGonigal.  They are brilliant, take the time to watch these links.
  8. Tour the major Civil War battlefields (this one is Gettysburg).  This conflict in American history is fascinating to me, walking where these events happened would be amazing.
  9. Visiting Auschwitz.  I have a history degree, and no history has captured me more than the Holocaust.  I wrote paper after paper after paper when I was in college.  Man’s inhumanity to man…to see one of these places that I read so much about….
  10. I want to be a leader (maybe there will be a link to this one day…).  A positive role model.  Someone that constantly gives back. Always willing to be supportive and encouraging.  Just because. (Not sure if life goals fit on bucket lists, but since I’m doing the writing…)
  11. Write a book (insert Amazon.com link here) – I am really, really hoping that when my dissertation is finished (Summer 2017), I can move it into book form.  Really, really hoping.

Sometimes taking a few minutes to talk about things that you want to do and dream about is fun.  As teachers, we spend so much time giving ourselves to EVERYONE else that we forget to have goals and desires that are all our own.

What is your bucket list?  Post it in the comments or blog about it and attach a link!

About Scott

My name is Scott. After 18.5 years as a high school math teacher in public education I have made the move to become a full time PhD student. This decisions was difficult, but has been one of the most rewarding things that I have ever done. Teaching in high school was an incredible experience for me, so leaving an environment that I loved for the unknown was a challenge. As I high school teacher, I taught almost every math course that could be offered. I was able to earn National Board Certification in Young Adult Math. I was honored as my building Teacher of the Year, no mean feat at Edmond Memorial High School!! My career changed as I became fascinated with educational technology and all of the things that it can do for teachers. I flipped my class. I used iPads and blogging (in high school math!!). I started using gamification and mastery learning. I changed my practice. I chose to go back to school to learn as much as I could. To bring that knowledge from academia and research to the teacher on the front line. I have had the opportunity to present at several conferences and share what I have learned with others. Its through these connections that we can be the best teachers we can for our students. They deserve it and we sell ourselves short when we don't give it. I love talking with teachers about change. About incorporating educational technology. About the power that they have to change lives. My blog space is me, it shares my passions and frustrations, my joys and my learnings. If you are interested in what I am studying, please visit my graduate school pages. If you are interested in the flipped classroom, I have some links to get your started. I would love to meet you! Do not hesitate to reach out! I would enjoy the opportunity to work with your staff or trade ideas with your teachers - let me know! Have a great day! #BeBrilliant

Discussion

One thought on “My Bucket List

  1. Wow!!!! You are an awesome man! So glad to be part of you are!!!!!!!!!!!.You put your whole heart into things Scotty. I know Jaz will support your endeavor, and you WILL spend your golden years together, with a bunch of grand kids (OMGosh).

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by peggie hunter | April 18, 2015, 3:30 pm

All of the cool people leave comments...

Follow Teaching From Here on WordPress.com

Be amazeballs - enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,623 other followers

Teaching From Here has impacted

  • 26,126 educators and counting.

Teach100 Blogs

Follow me on Twitter @TeachFromHere

Worldwide Impact!

Locations of Site Visitors
