//
you're reading...
#oklaed, Edublogger, Education

5 Things We Need to Quit Pretending About Education

StopPretending

I saw a tweet from Wes Fryer that got me thinking – so here they come in no particular order…

  1. We need to quit pretending schools have to be so so unequal.  It should not matter if you live in the suburbs or are living in the inner city, every student has the right to attend a school that is fully functional and can meet the needs of that unique student population.  We need to quit pretending that it’s okay to have unequal buildings based on ZIP Code number.
  2. We need to quit pretending it is permissible to continue the public assault on teachers and understand how critical teachers are to the future of the human race.  We need to understand that teachers are people full of passion, care care massively for their students, and want their students to succeed.  Teachers want to inspire students to understand that there is more to life than the four walls that create the schoolhouse. Teachers want their students to know that they can do the most incredible things and as teachers we want to cheer students on.
  3. Stop pretending that students are test scores and that the results of those test scores indicate how well the teacher has taught those children.  This couldn’t be further from the truth.  Our students are not test scores! Teachers should not be defined by those scores.  Students are sponges, they soak up everything around them.  Some teachers are have classes that must cover so much more than the normal curriculum becuase of real life situations.  There is so much more that could be understood about a student than a simple bubble on a test.  This policy of testing, testing, testing, to understand what the student knows it’s so backwards.  Unless every politician is willing to take each test and publicly publish their scores, testing needs to go away.  Unless we can get immediate results and use those results to narrow instruction for the students, testing needs to go away.
  4. We need to stop pretending that we live in the 1800’s.  There is absolutely no need for the school day and the school year to remain structured how it is currently structured.  With the technology that is now available for students, with the technology available for teachers, with the way that our society and culture has developed over the past 100 years since the old one room schoolhouse, there is no need to structure the schooldays exact same way.  If you want to create that one room schoolhouse in today’s age,  wow, think of all the brilliant things you could add in.  Pretending that school needs to remain structured this way because that’s how we’ve always done it is not a good reason any longer.
  5.  We need to quit pretending that there is a single change that will solve all of the struggles with the education system.  We need to quit pretending that one magic, magic curriculum, magic classroom model, magic teacher, magic administrator, magic whatever will work.  It won’t.  We will be disappointed time and time again if we depend on “that one special super duper education fixer.”  It takes a community, a city, a state, a nation, working together: teachers, policy makers, parents, business leaders, grandparents, CEO’s, Chambers of Commerce.

Passionate stuff here…I love teachers, I am a teacher, I am teaching future teachers.  I Teach From Here.

Agree?  Disagree?  Leave a comment – civil dialogue is where we start making everything better!

About Scott

My name is Scott. After 18.5 years as a high school math teacher in public education I have made the move to become a full time PhD student. This decisions was difficult, but has been one of the most rewarding things that I have ever done. Teaching in high school was an incredible experience for me, so leaving an environment that I loved for the unknown was a challenge. As I high school teacher, I taught almost every math course that could be offered. I was able to earn National Board Certification in Young Adult Math. I was honored as my building Teacher of the Year, no mean feat at Edmond Memorial High School!! My career changed as I became fascinated with educational technology and all of the things that it can do for teachers. I flipped my class. I used iPads and blogging (in high school math!!). I started using gamification and mastery learning. I changed my practice. I chose to go back to school to learn as much as I could. To bring that knowledge from academia and research to the teacher on the front line. I have had the opportunity to present at several conferences and share what I have learned with others. Its through these connections that we can be the best teachers we can for our students. They deserve it and we sell ourselves short when we don't give it. I love talking with teachers about change. About incorporating educational technology. About the power that they have to change lives. My blog space is me, it shares my passions and frustrations, my joys and my learnings. If you are interested in what I am studying, please visit my graduate school pages. If you are interested in the flipped classroom, I have some links to get your started. I would love to meet you! Do not hesitate to reach out! I would enjoy the opportunity to work with your staff or trade ideas with your teachers - let me know! Have a great day! #BeBrilliant

Discussion

6 thoughts on “5 Things We Need to Quit Pretending About Education

  1. When we can govern ourselves we can change a few things. 🙂
    http://educatingwho.blogspot.com/2015/04/5-things-we-should-stop-pretending5.html

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by Erin Barnes | April 14, 2015, 4:38 pm
  2. Awesome list, Scott. I like number 4 in particular!

    Thanks for participating!

    Like

    Posted by Scott McLeod (@mcleod) | April 14, 2015, 5:01 pm
  3. EXCELLENT!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Posted by dkenley | April 15, 2015, 9:46 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Blogger Challenge: The Things We Pretend | okeducationtruths - April 15, 2015

  2. Pingback: Stop Pretending . . . . | Random Teacher Thoughts - April 18, 2015

All of the cool people leave comments...

Follow Teaching From Here on WordPress.com

Be amazeballs - enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,626 other followers

Teaching From Here has impacted

  • 27,522 educators and counting.

Teach100 Blogs

Follow me on Twitter @TeachFromHere

Worldwide Impact!

Locations of Site Visitors
